Christus Regnat, take II

Today is the feast of Christ the King in the Ordinary form of the Roman Rite. I have already written about it this year since it is a different day in the older calendar.

Today the local parish had Mass in Extraordinary form at which I assisted and so I celebrated the last Sunday after Pentecost rather than Christ the King.  However I want to post this devotional prayer to our divine King.

Prayer to Christ the King

Christ Jesus, I acknowledge You as universal King.
All that has been created has been made for You.
Exercise over me all your rights.
I renew the promises I made in Baptism,
I renounce Satan and all his pomps and works,
and I promise to live a good Christian life
and to do all in my power
to procure the triumph of the rights of God
and of Your Church.

Divine Heart of Jesus,
I offer you my efforts
in order to obtain that all hearts
may acknowledge your Sacred Royalty,
and that thus the Kingdom of Your peace
may be established throughout the universe.
Amen.

This entry was posted in Feast days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

