It’s Friday: He Willingly Embraced the Cross

When our divine Savior beheld the cross, He most willingly stretched out His bleeding arms, lovingly embraced it, and tenderly kissed it, and placing it on His bruised shoulders, He, although almost exhausted, joyfully carried it. 

O my Jesus, I cannot be Thy friend and follower, if I refuse to carry the cross. O dearly beloved cross! I embrace thee, I kiss thee, I joyfully accept thee from the hands of my God. Far be it from me to glory in anything, save in the cross of my Lord and Redeemer. By it the world shall be crucified to me and I to the world, that I may be Thine forever. – Way of the Cross according to the Method of St. Francis of Assisi (second station)

A STRONG, and therefore heavy Cross, for it is strong enough to bear Him on it when He arrives at Calvary, is placed upon His torn shoulders. He receives it gently and meekly, nay, with gladness of heart, for it is to be the salvation of mankind. – Blessed John Henry Neumann (second station)

Remember that our Lord willingly accepted the cross for us, though we are undeserving, no one made him do it.

Pacino Di bonaguida Crux

 

 

This entry was posted in It's Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

