It’s Friday: Mater Dolorosa

It has been pointed out to me that I haven’t posted anything of my own in quite some time. It’s true, and I’ve been aware of it. (I actually have a number of half written things and ideas, I just need to finish them.) While it is true that my “It’s Friday” posts are not my own work, they are a form of personal devotion for me.

So here is a May edition. May is devotionally dedicated to Mary. Throughout the centuries a number of different devotional practices have developed around seeing the passion of Christ from Mary’s perspective. Today I am posting the “Seven Sorrows of Mary” which you may choose to meditate on.

And Simeon blessed them, and said to Mary his mother: Behold this child is set for the fall, and for the resurrection of many in Israel, and for a sign which shall be contradicted; And thy own soul a sword shall pierce, that, out of many hearts, thoughts may be revealed. –       The Gospel According to Luke 2:34,35

The Seven Sorrows of Mary

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon.
  2. The Flight to Egypt. (Mt 2:13)
  3. Losing Jesus in the Temple (Lk 2:43-45)
  4. Mary meeting Jesus as he carried his cross.
  5. The Crucifixion
  6. The piercing of the side of Christ.
  7. The Burial of Jesus.

 

This entry was posted in It's Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

