It’s Friday; The Feast and Month of the Sacred Heart

“One of the soldiers with a spear opened his side, and immediately there came out blood and water.” – Gospel of St. John 19:34

“Longinus opened the side of Jesus with His spear; in it I enter, and securely rest.” – St. Augustine

SH.jpg

This Friday is the Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Additionally the month of June is devotionally devoted to the Sacred Heart.

Now associated with this devotion is a type of folk piety that I am not always comfortable with. I remember being baffled when I first encountered prayers to the Sacred Heart . Prayers addressed to a bodily organ?… It seemed, to me, so much in that category of melodramatic Mediterranean piety, with a bit of superstation for good measure. I have since come to understand the Sacred Heart as an icon of the love of Christ. Love which endured being pierced for us. Which from it’s wound pours forth the blood of mercy. I won’t get into all the specifics of this particular devotion, except to say that it is simply an extension of devotion to Jesus and his cross for us.

Act of Consecration to the Heart of Christ

I (Your Name here.), give and consecrate to the Sacred Heart of our Lord Jesus Christ, my person, my life, my actions, my pains and sufferings, so that I may be unwilling to make use of any part of my being save to honor, love, and glorify the Sacred Heart. It is my unchanging intention to be all His and to do all for love of Him. I renounce at the same time with all my heart whatever can displease Him.

I, therefore, take You, O Sacred Heart, for the only object of my love, the protector of my life, the pledge of my salvation, the remedy of my weakness and inconstancy, the atonement for the faults of my life, and the secure refuge at the hour of my death.

Be then, O Heart of goodness, my justification before God the Father, and turn away from me the punishment of His just anger. O Heart of love, I put my confidence in You, because I fear everything from my own sinfulness and weakness. I hope for all things from Your mercy and generosity.

Destroy in me all that can displease or resist Your holy Will. Let Your pure love impress You so deeply upon my heart that I may never forget You or be separated from You. May my name, by your loving kindness, be written In You, because in You I desire to place all my happiness and all my glory in living and dying in very bondage to you.

 

This entry was posted in It's Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

